MUSINGS OF A #BEDC CORPS MEMBER -THE NIGERIAN DREAM BY SALAMI ISMAIL OYEWALE


image

Earlier today, Tuesday, 19th of April 2016, while distributing electricity bills in a remote metropolis in Benin city, Edo State, I was brought to tears by a show of passion in the “Nigerian Dream” by a customer I encountered.

Upon getting to the apartment, a partially completed 2-flat building, a middle-age woman attended to us (myself and a female marketer), we presented her bill to her.

The following sequence of events usually break out whenever we go out to share our monthly bills:

● Customer receives bills.

● Customer complains bitterly about high bill despite epileptic power supply.

● We (BEDC staffs) calm him/her down with empty reassurances that the supply will improve.

● Customer continues rant.

● We (BEDC staffs) take our leave, to proceed to the next apartment. And repeat the same sequence.

This particular woman was no different. Upon receiving her bill, she broke into a rant about the high bill we’ve given her this month. We calmed her down.

Fortunately, I’m yet to become accustomed to such rants since I joined the bill distribution crew. It’s a show that I’ve still got my conscience intact. Every month, high bills are printed, every month, customers blow hot without spitting fire, sheepishly they still go ahead to pay. The fraud in the electricity industry is a story for another day. Don’t let me digress.

The point I broke down before this middle-age woman was when she saw my NYSC cap and jungle boot (which I’ve converted to my BEDC fieldwork-safety boot). With her two little sons (about 7 and 4 years old respectively) quietly seated beside her while she was making her grievances known. Upon seeing my NYSC outfit, she calmed down and even flashed a smile at me. She showered prayer on me in native Benin language. The point arrived when she said that: “all her suffering now is to ensure that her two boys put on my NYSC uniform someday”.
Then she brought tears to my eyes by saying: “so they’ll also find job and work with NEPA like you my son”.

I answered “Ameen” sheepishly because I was in another realm!

I lost focus momentarily because I admired her sheer belief in the “Nigerian Dream” of the old days where our parents firmly believed what they had to do was to send us to school, and we’ll get employed thereafter!

I wept because I knew this woman, like millions others, were working very hard, toiling the soil, sweating blood just to ensure they get their children decent education with the firm hope and believe that there’s a nice job waiting for their wards after graduating!

I was sad because I knew it is a mirage!
These women will fulfill their part of the deal but the other body (governments, corporations, economy/economic policies etc) will not honour their side of the bargain!

I wept for my country for failing this woman and lots more, densely spread in virtually every home, from the far dry north to the coastal south!

I sobbed because I knew there is no longer a “Nigerian Dream”!

… SamaOnPoint – always on point! …

1 thought on “MUSINGS OF A #BEDC CORPS MEMBER -THE NIGERIAN DREAM BY SALAMI ISMAIL OYEWALE

  1. So sad. Every Corper at a point in time felt same way too. Well boss, I agree with you to some extent cos there is still The Nigerian Dream for The Nigerians. We are just a group of people fortunately and unfortunately living in Nigeria.

drop comment